Uncategorized

Kind – a WWII Christmas story – by Kellyn Roth

Have I told you yet that I love a good WWII story? It’s my favorite genre right now.

Recently, I had the pleasure of reading a delightful short story that highlighted the compassion of the era.

FTC Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Reveries Co. A positive review was not required. These are my honest thoughts.

Here’s the review I left on Goodreads:

A charming, quick story, Kind touched my heart with its thoughtfulness and depth. I love a great WWII tale, and this little shorty fit the bill nicely. The characters were realistic and the compassion, tangible. I adored the German setting and felt the Christmas spirit throughout. My emotions were swiftly drawn in with the witty banter and then swept up in the bustle of the Slade family’s trials. While I didn’t cry (this time, at least), I did get the good sort of chills, which is just as good as tears in my book.

This author might be young, but the potential of her talent is being realized one story at a time. I’ve only read one other book by her so far, yet I see wonderful growth in her abilities from that one to this. I can hardly wait to see what adventure she’ll whisk me away on next!

Readers who loved Lisa Wingate’s A Sandy’s Seashell Shop Christmas and Melody Carlson’s The Christmas Blessing will also cherish this story.



About the book:

Lt. Neil Hudson is sure to have a rotten Christmas.

How can he have anything but a rotten Christmas when he’s stuck in war-torn Germany away from his family, friends, and all hope of a decent turkey dinner?

That’s when the Slades come into his life.


About the author:

Kellyn Roth has been writing stories since she was seven, though she wrote quite a few (awful) poems and songs before that. Nowadays, she pens Christian & Historical Fiction, including lots of adorable children and mischievous animals – as well as a generous dose of BBC-style drama.

Miss Roth lives in the beautiful Columbia River Gorge with her parents, two little brothers, crazy border collies, annoying but lovable cat, and assorted cows and chickens. She is a homeschooled high schooler who spends her non-writing, non-reading time blogging, riding horses, attempting clarinet and saxophone, and pretending she has other hobbies besides writing.
Be sure to check out other reviews about this one on its Goodreads page… or leave your own once you read it!

 

How do you find kindness in the midst of turmoil?
 
How do you choose compassion over apathy?
 
 
In February, we’re reading about characters who are writers!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s